Déjà vu on Day 2

Even though the coffee at City Hall leaves much to be desired, I was craving a caffeine fix beyond the black tea I was having at home.  I drank two lukewarm cups before noon and was feeling grateful that it was free.

Now you must know that I am the daughter of an award-winning chef garde manger who won numerous prizes in North American culinary arts competition.  As a little girl, I listened to my father wax on about agriculture, local foods and sustainability.  For him it was about taste, nutrition and aesthetics – not necessarily in this order.  Let’s say his proselytizing was effective and that I can be finicky at times when it comes to food.  If my stomach is not happy, my mood follows.

Around noon, I ate a plate of microwaved leftovers and can’t say that it was satisfying.  A few hours later, I was hungry again and couldn’t use any money for a snack.  I had already spent over thirty dollars and didn’t want to dip into my fixed-budget until at least half way through the week. By my calculation, that would be Thursday afternoon.  So I stayed hungry and waited until I got home to eat a proper hot meal.

By 9 pm, when I arrived home, waiting for me was piping hot moong dal. I had soaked the yellow split peas and left it in a slow cooker with crushed garlic, ginger, onions, turmeric, cumin, garam masala, lemon juice and salt.  Quickly I washed some rice and while it simmered on the stove, I hung out with my furry animals waiting for dinner.

Of course, I made sure there was leftovers for tomorrow’s lunch, when I get to eat this all over again. 

Image

Leave a Reply

