Expect The Unexpected

By day four of the #Thrive665 challenge, certain routines and patterns were starting to fall into place. For all intents and purposes, I should have just taped my spoon to the jar of peanut butter, as it was my go-to whenever I felt a pang of hunger. Completing my work from home, instead of the usual coffee shop or other outside venue, my French press has been getting a large amount of attention. My weight returned to 155.5 pounds yesterday – perhaps thanks to my run on Wednesday night.

During my youth as a dancer, I engaged in some less than healthy eating habits, in the name of body image. What I had forgotten is that it is possible to reach a point where you no longer really feel the hunger. You suddenly don’t notice that you’ve skipped a meal (or two), but that doesn’t mean that your body isn’t aware. As I spoke with a journalist Thursday afternoon, I realized that I was having one of those moments.

When I found myself unexpectedly having to head to Kitchener last night, I realized I wouldn’t have the option of quickly grabbing a bite en route to the station and also had to plan for this morning. Throwing some oatmeal in a Ziploc bag, along with my trusty peanut butter jar, I was off. While on the bus, I began to feel nauseous and was worried about actually becoming ill. I tried to breathe through it and sleep it off, but my mind also went to the residents of Fife House and the experiences many of them face during seroconversion. Attempting to maintain sufficient nutrient and caloric intake, all while combatting the first stages of the virus clearly is a greater challenge than anything I’ve experienced over the course of this week. I can’t overstate the difference that makes for me.

This morning, I woke up, grateful that the symptoms from the previous night were gone and prepared for a radio interview with Yves-Gérard Mehou-Loko on Radio-Canada (which can be found at the following link: http:// http://www.radio-canada.ca/emissions/Ya_pas_deux_matins_pareils/2012-2013/chronique.asp?idChronique=284186&autoPlay=#.) I’ve been thankful for all of the discussions this initiative has started and was glad to also reach a French-speaking audience through the programme.

One question that left me a bit stumped was what food I was most looking forward to enjoying come Monday. I’ll turn it over to you – what would you eat as your first meal?

 

Leave a Reply

