Experimental Plate

Seekh kebab, sauteed rapini with lemon zest, chili sweet potato fries & popcorn.

Seekh kebab, sauteed rapini with lemon zest, chili sweet potato fries, homemade mustard & popcorn.

My heart is full.  Saturday was near perfect.

Mom and I  spent the day in Niagara Falls visiting my youngest sister and her two beautiful children. On the way back, we stopped in the historic town of Niagara on the Lake for butter tarts and lattes.  Mom supported my Thrive on $6.65 challenge as she provided lunch and paid for the cafe treats. As per the rules, now I’ve used all my permitted freebies for the week.

Weekends represent personal time.  The day was spent with family and the evening with friends at home.  For supper, I made seekh kebabs, sauteed rapini with lemon zest, oven baked sweet potato fries and stove top popcorn. The popcorn was spontaneously tossed into the mix.  It was a tip I picked up from a trendy Ossington restaurant.  As unconventional as it looks, the experimental plate worked.  Flavourful, texture varied and odd enough that everyone kept eating. The composition won’t please everyone but my guests were hungry and expressed satisfaction. Not to mention there was enough food to feed three and nothing was leftover. 

I live with a pet menagerie. A dog, a cat and a pair of red-ear sliders.  They are essentially my “kids” along with a half dozen plants.  The kids are expensive to care for – food, treats, toys, kitty litter, veterinary visits, grooming, winter boots. All difficult to pay for when living below the poverty levels.  Somethings would have to go, perhaps the grooming, pet medicine or regular vet visits.  Not pleasant choices when forced to be made.

Artemis, my cat who controls me with that sweet face. That's her asking for treats.

Artemis, my cat who controls me with that sweet face. That’s her asking for treats.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

